“Easy overgeneralisations make for easy criticisms”

Looking at this quotation again, it’s pretty simple:

“…easy overgeneralisations make for easy criticisms, and today we need to be asking tougher questions and confronting more conflicted choices about these new technologies.”

But it’s so widely true. Personally, it crystallises something that’s been pulling at me for a long time: I need to be better researched.

Militating against that are the catholic interests and divided loyalties I don’t want to give up. My solace is that I’m probably going to live so long that maybe I can afford to postpone political, critical, theoretical maturity for a while.

Burbules, N.C. (2002). Educational Philosophy and Theory;34(4):387-393.

Leave a Reply

