Misfortunes

None of these misfortunes are mine.

Gazans have never had it more miserable but who is responsible? Responsibility for the life-threatening fuel shortage is complicated by reports of Hamas opening fire on fuel trucks with supplies destined for hospitals. They know that reporters will blame Israel.

“Eyewitnesses in Gaza city said that on at least four occasions over the past few weeks, Hamas militiamen confiscated trucks loaded with fuel shortly as they were on their way from the Nahal Oz crossing point to Gaza city. They added that the fuel supplies were taken to Hamas-controlled security installations…. Because of Hamas actions, they said, some hospitals have been forced to stop the work of ambulances and generators…”

Khaled Abu Toameh, Jerusalem Post, 27 April 2008

llan Pappe, ideological historiographer and leading authority for boycotters, has done us all a favour by allowing himself to be interviewed by an admiring far right German newspaper. Any credibility he ever had is now a puddle at his feet.

I heard about two separate misfortunes from a colleague and in the pub that gave me the most delicious schadenfreude.

Gilad Atzmon has set up an Auntie Ziona Against Auntie Simone blog to lampoon his adversary Tony Greenstein’s Anti-Zionists Against Antisemites. Greenstein is attempting to rid the Palestinian Solidarity Campaign of antisemitism (including Atzmon). Atzmon sneers at Greenstein and describes him as colonising the PSC with his Jewish identity politics. There is nothing good that can be said for any of them. Atzmon’s satire is awfully funny and utterly derelict. I don’t like Tony Greenstein, and reading AZVAS made me laugh. Laughing made me feel as guilty the last time I broke my veganism so I sacked it and went to look at Fail Blog instead. Tony Greenstein’s threat to Jews resides in his double standards and division of Jews into good anti-Zionist ones and bad Zionist ones. Gilad Atzmon rejects Jewish identity as antithetical to the human race, even has he cherishes all Palestinians. Thank god I don’t have to choose or take sides in this disgusting fight. But I keep in mind that Greenstein is currently an incompetent campaigner against antisemitism, as well as the object of Atzmon’s antisemitism.

A small part of a misfortune for one of the candidates, I surprised myself by swerving off-course tonight with my crucial 2nd mayoral vote. Nice to see my polling station was celebrating, but not extravagantly, Israel’s 60th birthday.

Interestingly, everything that happens to me can be viewed as a misfortune if I only spin it right.

One thought on “Misfortunes

Leave a Reply

