Staples or manhole covers. Your choice.

Not quite, but I just thought I’d mention, since my stapleless stapler has gone on the blink [UPDATE: mended!] after about 6 years, that staples are made of zinc-coated steel wire.

As everybody knows, steel is in high demand because human-hole covers (call me Harriet Harperson), steel, and other steel products have been targetted by thieves all over the world at an alarming rate. It’s known as urban mining. People are dying or endangered because of this.

So if I quote Scotland’s Envirowise website that:

“…stables cannot be reused. If everyone in UK offices saved one staple a day, that would be 72 tonnes of metal saved a year.”

I reckon that will be all I need to do to convince you to get one of these.

I mean, sure, it’s not going to make much of a dent on the lucrativeness of steel theft, but steel is now so precious why would you send it to the landfill?

(I don’t want to recommend one. I’m not so pleased with my old one. A stapler should last forever but mine is dead after five years leaving me with a useless lump of plastic. I can see what’s wrong but it has been designed in such a way that I can’t get in and repair it. That isn’t so environmentally friendly. So this time I’m going for the Greenlok – it does two extra pages too. And for £5.95. I should say that you have to be a bit more careful with your document than with old-fashioned staples – I tend to make a crease before I turn the page.)

UPDATE: in the comments MattP points out this so-called ‘chinese stapler‘. My sweet life! It’s £49. Oh. It’s made out of steel.

UPDATE 2: Woo-hoo! Somebody in our Design department mended the stapler. You turn it upside-down and slide something thin between the base and the bit with the mechanism, to pop out the base. Then you can get the mashed-up bits of paper out. I am ever so grateful.

7 thoughts on “Staples or manhole covers. Your choice.

Leave a Reply

