Do one thing every day that scares you

I just turned down an opportunity to do something. My friend accepted gingerly and sent me this vaguely familiar YouTube thing by Baz Luhrmann which is based on a 1997 Chigago Tribune column by Mary Schmich titled “Advice, like youth, probably just wasted on the young”. As far as pithy designs-for-life go, I think it is excellent. I’m thinking of acting on it to the letter.

But I can’t find the column now. Maybe there was an inaccuracy?

Here it is on The Full Text. And here’s the vid.

Update: And here, from William Burroughs via Matt P in the comments, is something I wish I’d found myself.

Update 2: And this from (the?) Quentin Crisp

Oh, there’s plenty more, if you look.

5 thoughts on “Do one thing every day that scares you

  1. This was #1 in the charts back in 99? 2000? Something like that. Some good advice in there. The bit about love letters and bank statements is a bit dodgy – I was driven to burn some old love letters through sheer horror, and you need you bank statements for tax time. But flossing is good. I recommend these: http://www.brushpicks.com/

    William Burroughs gave some good advice too, and he didn’t make films that make people puke: http://www.jjjwebdevelopment.com/306sites/burroughs/burroughs.shtml

    Stay frosty!

  2. I got given some brushpick-type things at the station the other day, but it seemed like a lot of disposable plastic to me.

    2000? I was sleeping back then. I did puke slightly at Shakespeare in Love, though.

  3. I want to puke now. It was #1 in the UK on my birthday in 1999, after a campaign by Chris Moyles.
    I first heard the Burroughs thing when Sheep On Drugs based a track on it.
    Brushpicks are disposable plastic, it’s true. So is floss. Wood picks don’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

