New York Times piece on a vegan

Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson won’t eat food with a face. But he does hang out with farm animals (very strange pictures).

At 68 here are lots of hints about his enduring virility and attractiveness in this piece.

I’m not his kind of vegan – I don’t have a mystical bone in my body. But I’m with him 100% when he says:

“When people say their chickens lead such a good life, I say, ‘According to whose definition of a good life, are parents separated from their young?’ ” he said. “Chickens like to fly. They like to take dust baths. They’re programmed to hide their eggs, so it would be very time-consuming to give them 10 acres and then go searching all over the place for the eggs.”

As somebody about to take off into Yorkshire, this last bit interested me:

“This summer, Mr. Masson and his wife and sons are going on a bicycling tour of Italy. “I can see a situation where we’ve been riding all day, and we’re going to be hungry and the Italian people are going to give us pasta with cheese and we don’t want to hurt their feelings,” he said. “So I may just not be vegan for two weeks.”

The feelings of Italian caterers more important than calves? I don’t get this. How does anything change if you don’t say and don’t ask? Phone ahead, find accommodation with enlightened owners, or just don’t go there.

5 thoughts on “New York Times piece on a vegan

  1. It sounds a lot like Buddha, who also would eat flesh if people gave it to him. I guess beggars can’t be choosers, but at the same time it is a huge contradiction. I would just pack fresh fruit and packaged foods.

Leave a Reply

