National Rail – avoiding the injustice of a penalty fare

Goes without saying that dodging is a disgusting thing to do, which amounts to stealing a free ride from your fellow passengers and contributing to the poverty of the transport network.

I want to pay my fare, and I have an annual network Gold Card. In theory this entitles me to discounts galore. In reality, I have to pay again for this by arriving half an hour early at the station.

I have to queue to get my discounts – namely my travel up to boundary zone 4 and my 33% discount on the price of the ticket.

I have to wait in queues of sometimes 50 people, some of whom don’t understand the difference between ticketing and information, sometimes for 30 minutes. This is absolutely unacceptable and after reading this Evening Standard guide, I’m damned if I’ll do it again.

HT: Ibis

Leave a Reply

